Dressing up in China

Dressing up in traditional get-up and having your photo taken at crowded tourist sites is a popular past time in China, and something that no Chinese person has ever been able to fully explain to me.

It’s a bit like cosplay, but more square.

I had a try myself at Beihai park years ago. I didn’t get it.

NB: This photo is appalling. I have much better hair now.

NB: This photo is appalling.

My half Chinese boyfriend did.

Western tourist dresses in tradition chinese clothes at Beihai park, Beijing.

BF really enjoyed his brief moment as a Chinese emperor.

2 responses to “Dressing up in China

  1. The weirdest (and most poignant) I saw was in little towns in western Sichuan, where people would get their picture taken in front of a photo fo the Potala Palace…

Leave a Reply

