Photos: Postcards from Hong Kong

I recently came across photos from my brief visit to Hong Kong back in September 2011 and it made me feel all nostalgic.

Incense coils hang in Man Mo Temple on Hong Kong Island.

Incense coils hang in Man Mo Temple on Hong Kong Island.

I visited Hong Kong twice during my 4 years in Beijing and loved it. It was such a contrast to Beijing. Beijing is land locked, dusty and geographically boring. Hong Kong is by the sea, vibrant and surrounded by lush green hills.

I was there for four days on my second visit and just spent that time wandering about taking photos. Here’s a some of my favourites (- the full album can be seen on my flickr page).

Click on a photo to open a slideshow gallery.

(All photos were taken with a Canon EOS 550D, using a 18-55 mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens).

Related articles

8 responses to “Photos: Postcards from Hong Kong

  1. Pingback: Photos: Exploring Beijing’s Backstreets | Chinarama·

  2. Pingback: Cherry Blossom in Beijing | Chinarama·

  3. I really love your pictures! I’m very jealous too, as I didn’t really do Hong Kong justice with my photos when I was there last year. Great shots! 🙂

    • Thank you for yoru kind words! I actually felt I could have taken better shots in HK actually. I was still getting to grips with my camera and photography in general (still am!). Your blog looks great, I will be stopping by soon.

      • Oh I know the feeling, I was pretty much working out my new camera on the go while I was in Japan. I don’t really have a great technical understanding of photography either, but I hope to change that.

        Glad you managed to check out the blog too, it’s massively appreciated. I’ll be reading plenty more on here 🙂

      • Yeah, self teaching seems to be the way a lot of photographers start. I try to set myself little challenges when I visit somewhere, like perspective or colour challenges. It’s a bit geeky, but it gets me thinking!

  4. Pingback: Ticket stubs and memories | Chinarama·

Leave a comment